Photo Blog 99

1 03 2010

As most in Auckland will know it was the Lantern Festival on the weekend just gone. I say most because it seemed most of the city was there!
We went on both Saturday and Sunday nights and I took way too many photos. The cool thing was I was able to take my wider 24-105mm on the first night and the fast 50mm/1.8 on Sunday. The fireworks also seemed much better than in previous years.

The first shot for today is of Alyona and her Mother who arrived late last week. It needed a gradient filter and a lot of noise reduction in Photoshop to bring the bottom half of the scene back from the brink.

Lantern Festival (f4.0 0.5s 24mm)


The smoothness comes from the noise reduction but I still like the outcome…

The second shot isn’t the best fireworks one I’ve ever seen (or probably taken) But I really like the shape of the smoke behind the explosions and the composition isn’t bad. Not that I can claim much for that given it was more shoot and hope than anything else!

Fireworks (f2.8 1/20s 50mm)

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 03 2010
Alyona

Wow, I’m speechless! One of your best shots, Darling! :-)

3 03 2010
Alex

Hey little brother, awesome photos.
Can you email me at work? – I lost your details :(

Leave a Reply

