Photo Blog 72

18 06 2009

Continuing with the task of taking 10 portraits in 10 shots at 24mm I have two new images for today. We went for our monthly dev-lunch down at the Waterfront and I took the camera along to try to take a couple more portrait shots. The first thing I noticed is that the choice of 24mm is proving… interesting. It means you have to really get up in people’s faces which is never comfortable for them or me so the shots end up looking a bit stiff. Well, I guess it would have helped if I had told them what I was doing :-P

The first shot is of James M, the newest member of the dev team (although he has been here for 6 months now). And yes, having two James is confusing sometimes.

Portrait 3 - James M (f4.0 1/125 24mm)

Portrait 3 - James M (f4.0 1/125 24mm)

The fourth portrait is of Goran who was in the shot from a couple days ago. I have to admit I prefer the one from then but it took a lot more than 1 shot to get it right in low light conditions. Trying to vary up the angles I went from table level shooting up which I like.

Portrait 4 - Goran (f4.0 1/50 24mm)

Portrait 4 - Goran (f4.0 1/50 24mm)

As a side note: I’ve been reading this blog here (Som en Fotograf) and really like his magazine shots that are high contrast, subject being almost over exposed kind of a look which I am experimenting with. I think it is also a little reminiscent of some of Victor’s analog shots.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 06 2009
Alex

hmmm.. “It means you have to really get up in people’s faces ” .. so the ‘winner’ of the assignment will be the one that gets through all ten portraits without getting maimed?

18 06 2009
nshgraph

Pretty much… the camera is about 2 feet away for these shots. The one of Daniel yesterday is more like 1 foot. It’s like staring down the barrel of a gun :-)

Leave a Reply

