Photo Blog 57

20 05 2009

So another week and another assignment. This time we have to focus on movement which falls into 3 categories:

  • Capturing an instant (fast shutter speed)
  • Portraying motion (slow shutter speed and blur for movement)
  • Panning with movement (slow shutter and blur on stationary objects

Today’s update has an attempt at the 3rd category where I tried to pan with some things that were moving. Turns out it is quite hard and there were a LOT of images that I had to throw away and even the 2 I’ve put up here aren’t that flash hot.

So I went down to Victoria Park after Lunch and there were these little birds (starlings perhaps?) that were circling me so I set the camera to AI Focus (so it is constantly auto focusing) and experimented with different shutter speeds while tracking the birds. Of course it turns out that even at a relatively fast shutter speed they are moving very quickly and even if I successfully tracked them then wing movement made them seem blurry. But the best I got was this:

Birdie (f10.0 1/100 105mm)

Birdie (f10.0 1/100 105mm)

Later while walking back I tried to get some shots of cars going past which weren’t very interesting but a cyclist went past and I got one of him that while not tack sharp is enough for the assignment and for the limited time I devoted to trying to get a shot… I have a feeling that this week will involve a lot of trial and error

Bikie (f20 1/20 105mm)

Bikie (f20 1/20 105mm)

And finally because I really liked the contrast in the image and because the other two aren’t that nice:

Bench (f10 1/250 35mm)

Bench (f10 1/250 35mm)

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 05 2009
Alex

I think you should have titled the last one ‘Benchie’ ..for consistency.

20 05 2009
nshgraph

I did think of that but thought it might be naff :-P

21 05 2009
Chancho

Really, really like the last one! For some reason I never saw it the first two times I looked! Stupid slow net in Uni library!

21 05 2009
nshgraph

I know! For some reason I really like it which is why I included it despite it not being a movement pic….

Leave a Reply

