Photo Blog 37

20 04 2009

Today’s photo blog is really Saturday’s photo blog but this is the first chance I’ve had to upload the images :-)

I was at a party in the countryside outside Hamilton on Saturday night and the landscape and lighting (and company) were absolutely stunning. So today’s images are just two of many that I took but are the pick of the bunch.

The first is one of some hills where the light looked great and there was some really interesting contrast in the scene (maybe helped only a little by Photoshop in post).

Hills (f4.0 1/80 40mm)

Hills (f4.0 1/80 40mm)

The second is an HDR shot looking down a long hedge towards the horizon. I really liked the way that the lines draw you into the center of the image and even though I know the horizon should be on one of the thirds instead of smack bang in the middle I really do prefer it this way…

Waikato HDR (f4.0 1/2500 1/640 1/160 50mm)

Waikato HDR (f4.0 1/2500 1/640 1/160 50mm)

I think this is the first of my HDR attempts where I have really been pleased with the result :-)

edit: Victor reckons it looks better when it is cropped, so here is a slightly different form factor with a very different feel:

Waikato HDR (f4.0 1/2500 1/640 1/160 50mm)

Waikato HDR (f4.0 1/2500 1/640 1/160 50mm)

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 04 2009
Mum

both these shots are very cool

21 04 2009
nshgraph

Thanks Mum ;-)

22 04 2009
Alyona

Yes! I totally agree with Victor! It looks like a painting now…

Leave a Reply

