Photo Blog 33

15 04 2009

Today’s update is a bit late (in fact it is technically the next day) as I spent the evening around at Daniel & Srdjan’s for dinner and a catch up. Nice food and company is always good!

Unfortunately it does kind of mean that the photos I intended for today aren’t quite ready. From the DigitalPhotographySchool interview with Trey Ratcliff (interview) I found his tutorial on how to do HDR properly (tutorial), so getting some good shots from theparking building at the top of Shortland St I intended to try my hand… but it turns out to be a bit more involved than I thought so I am only half way through! So today’s photos are very much in the intermediate stage of the process so still have that very ‘unreal’ look to them but I’m hoping the final product will look better. Plus it gives me a chance to use them another day for another update :-)

Shortland St HDR (Incomplete) (f11 73mm 1/8 1/30 1/125)

Shortland St HDR (Incomplete) (f11 73mm 1/8 1/30 1/125)

Shortland St HDR 2 (Incomplete) (f11 73mm 1/30 1/125 1/500)

Shortland St HDR 2 (Incomplete) (f11 73mm 1/30 1/125 1/500)

As you can see, there is potential. But it is going to take a *lot* of work to get rid of the nasty tone-mapping. But I think the reflections of some of the windows onto other buildings is quite cool :-)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

