Photo Blog 13

22 03 2009

After reading my book in Albert Park for a while (The Time Paradox of Philip Zimbardo… good book on human perception and attitudes towards time) I took a few photos of the fountains and the flowers around about.

Not sure if it was because I was primed by reading about time or if I just thought it would look cool but I experimented with using a fast aperture and shutter speed versus a slow aperture and shutter speed to get different looks from the falling water from the fountain.

The first image was taken at f4.0 and with it you can make out each individual drop of water and it looks like the scene is frozen in place:

Albert Park fountain - Fast (f4.0, 1/1000)

Albert Park fountain - Fast (f4.0, 1/1000)

The second image was taken from the same spot but zoomed more (I did take photos with the same composition but they didn’t look as nice). To get the smoothed water streams I closed the aperture to f22 and balanced for a higher exposure which I then compensated for in post-processing.

Albert Park fountain - Slow (f22 0.3s)

Albert Park fountain - Slow (f22 0.3s)

To be honest the effect is less that it makes the water look smoother as it does make it look much higher pressure. I still like the effect and I like the bit of added detail & contrast the foreground flower provides to both images…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

